The Journal of Geography publishes innovative approaches to geography research, teaching, and learning.

Published work includes research-based articles, commentaries, symposia, and book reviews. Manuscripts that make new and important contributions to geography research, teaching, and learning are strongly encouraged.

The long-term goal of the Journal of Geography is to build a body of high-quality research representing all theoretical paradigms, methodologies, and subfields of geographic inquiry.

Free with NCGE Membership.

Access Journal

Article Submission Information

To submit an article on-line, please access the Journal of Geography’s Manuscript Central site.

Submit an Article
Submit a Manuscript

Subscription Information

Free with NCGE Membership.

Subscriptions are available for libraries and institutions.  Institutional subscriptions include six issues of the Journal of Geography, and four issues of The Geography Teacher each year.

For subscriptions please contact:

USA/North America:  Tel (215) 625-8900;  Fax (215) 625-2940;  USA Address:  Taylor & Francis Group, LLC, 325 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA  19106

UK/Europe:  Tel +44 (0) 20 7017 5544;  Fax +44 (0) 20 7017 5198;  UK Address:  Taylor & Francis Customer Service, Sheepen Place, Colchester, Essex C03 3LP

The Journal of Geography Editorial Board

Jerry T. Mitchell – University of South Carolina, USA

Associate Editor / Editor Elect
Meredith Marsh – Lindenwood University, USA

Associate Editors
Timothy Hawthorne – University of Central Florida, USA
Alex Oberle – University of Northern Iowa, USA


Book Review Editor
Virginia Thompson – Towson University, USA

Editorial Assistant
Christopher Krause – University of South Carolina, USA

Editorial Board

Fabian Araya Palacios – Universidad de La Serena, Chile
Karen Barton – University of Northern Colorado, USA
Robert S. Bednarz – Texas A&M University, USA
Osa Brand – National Council for Geographic Education, USA
Carmen Brysch – Auburn University, USA
Ali Demirci – Independent Scholar, Turkey
Seth Dixon – Rhode Island College, USA
Kenneth E. Foote – University of Connecticut, USA
Erin Fouberg – Northern State University, South Dakota, USA
Phil Gersmehl – Michigan Geographic Alliance, USA
John A. Harrington – Kansas State University, USA
Elizabeth Hinde – Metropolitan State University of Denver, USA
Mark C. Jones – Independent Scholar, Beverly, MA, USA
Ronald Kalafsky – University of Tennessee, USA
Joseph J. Kerski – ESRI, USA
David A. Lanegran – Macalester College, USA
Lisa Keys-Mathews – University of North Alabama, USA
James F. Marran – Independent Scholar, USA
Lisa Millsaps – University of Northern Iowa, USA
Tyrel G. Moore  University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
Richard Schultz – North Park University, USA
Eui-kyung Shin – Northern Illinois University, USA
Janet S. Smith – Shippensburg University, USA
Joseph P. Stoltman – Western Michigan University, USA
Virginia Thompson – Towson University, USA
Jacqueline Waite – ORISE, USA
Gerald R. Webster – University of Wyoming, USA
Thomas A. Wikle – Oklahoma State University, USA