NCGE Seeking is currently seeking nominations for the roles of President-Elect and two Board of Directors to begin service January 2024

Are you an NCGE member in good standing? Do you know someone who can be a guiding force, helping to shape the future of geography education with their innovation and expertise? Now’s the time to nominate them! 

Here’s how you can make a nomination:

  • Reflect on potential candidates in your network who are NCGE members and embody dedication and innovation in the field of geographic education.
  • Prepare a thoughtful nomination, highlighting their commitment and contributions to the field.
  • Head to our nomination page  by clicking the button below to submit your nomination before the deadline on September 22nd, 11:59 PM (EDT).


To serve on the NCGE Board of Directors, a candidate must have been a member for at least three years and currently have an active membership. All nominators are required to be NCGE members in good standing.  

Please note: You may submit more than one nomination, however, you will be required to submit a form for each additional person. You must complete and submit the form in one sitting. You will not be able to save the information and complete it at a later date.

Once you have nominated a candidate, we will contact them to ensure they would like to move forward. They will be required to provide documentation (A statement letter describing their involvement with NCGE and reasons why they would like to participate on the board, as well as, their CV/resume).

Board of Directors

Greg Hill


John Horn High School

Mesquite, Texas

Thomas Barclay Larsen


University of Northern Iowa

Cedar Falls, IA

Larianne Collins


University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Charlotte, NC

Thomas Herman


San Diego State University and California Geographic Alliance

San Diego, California

Julie Wakefield

Recording Secretary

Robert McQueen High School

Reno, Nevada

Barbara S. Hildebrant


Educational Testing Service (ret.)

Phelps, New York

Celeste Reynolds


Mashpee Highschool

Mashpee, MA

Daniel C. Edelson


BSCS Science Learning

Colorado Springs, CO

Karen Guerrero


Director, Arizona State University

Phoenix, AZ

Kyle Tredinnick


University of Nebraska-Omaha

Omaha, NE

Michael Mewborne


University of South Carolina

Columbia, SC

Phillip Hare


Taylorsville Highschool

Salt Lake City, UT

Samantha Serrano


Conant High School

Eligin, IL


Injeong Jo

Editor, Journal of Geography

Texas State University

San Marcos, Texas

Rebecca Theobald

Editor, The Geography Teacher

University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Colorado Springs, Colorado


Charles D. Regan

Executive Director

National Council for Geographic Education

Silver Spring, MD

Lisa Marie Tobin

Program Director

National Council for Geographic Education

Gaylord, Michigan

Char Melvin


National Council for Geographic Education

Silver Spring, Maryland